



One day symposium on 100 years of Bose Institute: Acharya J C Bose and beyond

Jointly organized by

Bose Institute Alumni Association

Bose Institute

November 21, 2017, 10 am onwards Lecture Hall, Main Campus, Bose Institute 93/1 APC road, Kolkata 700009

Speakers:

Prof. V. Nagaraja

Prof. Sitabhra Sinha

Prof. Shekhar C. Mande

Prof. A. S. Raghavendra

Prof. N. C. Mandal

Prof. A. N. Lahiri Majumder

Prof. Parimal C. Sen

Prof. Barun K. Chatterjee

Contact for registration and other details:

Prof. Tapan K. Dutta, tapan@jcbose.ac.in Dr. Pallob Kundu, pkundu@jcbose.ac.in

http://www.boseinstitutealumni.in/







Celebrating Centenary of Bose Institute

Bose Institute Alumni Association and Bose Institute organizing one day symposium on

100 years of Bose Institute: Acharya J C Bose and beyond

November 21, 2017 Lecture Hall, Bose Institute, Main Campus, 93/1, A.P.C. Road, Kolkata 700009 Contact: tapan@jcbose.ac.in

The 'Centenary Year' is the "golden moment" to indulge in enjoyable recollection of contribution of the great maestros of the Institute, realigning their discoveries with the current scientific advancements at the National and International level, and to enlighten the younger generation about the researches going on outside Bose Institute in the specific fields where the Bose Institute has contributed most. The symposium is being organized to fulfil this objective.

Tentative Programme

Tentative Programme	
10.00 am - 10.30 am	Registration
	Welcome address by the President/Secretary, BIAA
10.30 am - 11.00 am	Address by the Director, Bose Institute
	Address by the Chairman, Centenary Celebration Committee, Bose Institute
11.00 am - 11.30 noon	Lecture on 'Bose Institute's contribution in Microbiological, Biochemical and Biophysical Sciences' by Prof. N. C. Mandal
11.30 noon - 12.30 pm	Distinguished lecture by Prof. V. Nagaraja on 'Co-evolutionary arms race between bacteria and the invading genomes'
12.30 pm – 1.00 pm	Lecture on 'Bose Institute's contribution to Chemical Sciences including Protein Chemistry, Animal Physiology and Molecular Medicine' by Prof. Parimal C. Sen
1.00 pm - 2.00 pm	Lunch Break
2.00 pm - 3.00 pm	Distinguished lecture by Prof. Shekhar C. Mande on 'Structural understanding of electron transfer proteins in <i>M. tuberculosis</i> '
3.00 pm - 3.30 pm	Lecture on 'Bose Institute's contribution in physics' by Prof. Barun K. Chatterjee
3.30 pm – 4.00 pm	Distinguished lecture by Prof. Sitabhra Sinha on 'Memory, Intelligence and Computation without Brains'
4.00 pm - 4.30 pm	Tea break
4.30 pm - 5.00 pm	Lecture on 'Bose Institute's contribution in plant biology' by Prof. A.N. Lahiri Majumder
5.00 pm – 6.00 pm	Distinguished lecture by Prof. A. S. Raghavendra on 'Sir Jagadish Chandra Bose, a scientist ahead of his time: pioneer of photosynthesis studies and an inspiration for biology research in India'
6.00 pm	Vote of Thanks
7.00 pm - 9.00 pm	Musical programme and Dinner